University Challenge results, 2005

Here are the results of the 34th series (8:30pm Monday, BBC2) that ran from 13th September 2004 until 9th May 2005.

First round
13/09/2004Leicester150145Jesus, Cambridge
27/09/2004Newcastle155150University, Oxford
04/10/2004Warwick100265University, London
11/10/2004Balliol, Oxford170105Downing, Cambridge
25/10/2004St John's, Cambridge70195Reading
08/11/2004St Hilda's, Oxford150120Portsmouth
15/11/2004Magdalene, Cambridge80195Sheffield
22/11/2004Queen's, Belfast130185UEA
29/11/2004Trinity, Cambridge110195Corpus Christi, Oxford
13/12/2004St Andrews40315Manchester
20/12/2004Royal Holloway, London13575Greyfriar's Hall, Oxford
Highest-scoring losers
03/01/2005University, Oxford20085York
10/01/2005Jesus, Cambridge27540Queen's, Belfast
Second Round
17/01/2005Edinburgh15570Royal Holloway, London
31/01/2005St Hilda's, Oxford155120Leicester
07/02/2005Sheffield145240Corpus Christi, Oxford
14/02/2005Balliol, Oxford215195Durham
28/02/2005University, London245105UEA
07/03/2005University, Oxford135165Jesus, Cambridge
14/03/2005Balliol, Oxford21575Edinburgh
21/03/2005Corpus Christi, Oxford34580Lancaster
04/04/2005University, London175110Jesus, Cambridge
11/04/2005Manchester215150St Hilda's, Oxford
18/04/2005Balliol, Oxford205255Corpus Christi, Oxford
25/04/2005University, London190185Manchester
09/05/2005Corpus Christi, Oxford250140University, London

This year's winners were Nick Sharp (English), Stefano Mariani (History & Politics), Charles Oakley (Applied Maths), and David Whitley (English) making it three wins in the last four years for Oxford. They were presented with the trophy by actor Pete Postlethwaite. The new trophy is a new and less elaborate version of Adrian Moakes' sculpture that had been used in the previous ten series.

Winners are given in bold, and the four highest scoring first round losers in italics. An italicised score indicates that the result was decided by a tie-break.