University Challenge - The Professionals - 2005

The third series began on 20th May 2005 with the final appearing on 12th September. Once again the four highest scoring teams from the first round were selected to progress to the semi-finals.

First round
20/06/2005Radio 4 - Today130115Masters of Wine
27/06/2005Private Eye160135Debrett's
04/07/2005Metropolitan Police Instructors135165The Lady magazine
11/07/2005Wisden145245Romantic Novelists' Association
18/07/2005Hay-on-Wye Literary Festival120240Privy Council Office
25/07/2005Financial Times115175Idler magazine
01/08/2005European Interpreters105210The Economist
08/08/2005V&A150115Chess Players
15/08/2005Barbican170135Society for the Protection of Ancient Buildings
22/08/2005Biographers' Club95230New Scientist
29/08/2005Privy Council Office19585New Scientist
05/09/2005Romantic Novelists' Association200180The Economist
12/09/2005Privy Council Office165115Romantic Novelists' Association

The winners of the third series of UC: The Professionals were John Watherston, Meriel McCullagh, Alex Galloway, and Graham Donald of the Privy Council Office, beating out the Romantic Novelists whose team included Mastermind champion Anne Ashurst who also appeared on the Mastermind vs Magdalen, Oxford Christmas special in 1997.

The Privy Council received their individual trophies from actor John Sessions who recounted his experience as a reserve for the team that represented Bangor University in 1974.