University Challenge results, 2021-22

The 51st series began on 12 July 2021 with the final on 4 April 2022, showing on Mondays on BBC Two at 20:30. The first rounds were filmed during the coronavirus restrictions, with perspex screens installed between contestants who also wore earpieces to communicate with their teammates. As last year, as the series was filmed over two academic years, the requirement to be a student at the institution until the end of filming was again removed.

First round
12/07/2021King's, London115100Glasgow
19/07/2021University, London135140St Hilda's, Oxford
26/07/2021London Business School100180Hertford, Oxford
02/08/2021Emmanuel, Cambridge135140St Andrews
09/08/2021Queen Mary, London11590Oxford Brookes
23/08/2021Durham90190Trinity, Cambridge
06/09/2021Edinburgh27080Peterhouse, Cambridge
13/09/2021St John's, Cambridge155210Imperial, London
20/09/2021St Catharine's, Cambridge130120University, Oxford
27/09/2021Dundee145135Royal Northern College of Music
04/10/2021Wolfson, Oxford110165Bristol
Highest-scoring losers
18/10/2021University, London170175St John's, Cambridge
25/10/2021Emmanuel, Cambridge180115Royal Northern College of Music
Second round
01/11/2021St John's, Cambridge22045Queen Mary, London
08/11/2021Emmanuel, Cambridge125120St Catharine's, Cambridge
22/11/2021St Hilda's, Oxford45235Trinity, Cambridge
06/12/2021King's, London165115Hertford, Oxford
13/12/2021Birmingham22550St Andrews
03/01/2022Exeter70205Imperial, London
17/01/2022King's, London50235Imperial, London
24/01/2022St John's, Cambridge140155Emmanuel, Cambridge
31/01/2022Edinburgh23095Trinity, Cambridge
07/02/2022Birmingham115140King's, London
14/02/2022Reading120225Imperial, London
21/02/2022Emmanuel, Cambridge145150Edinburgh
28/02/2022St John's, Cambridge155125Trinity, Cambridge
07/03/2022King's, London8085Emmanuel, Cambridge
14/03/2022Reading14570St John's, Cambridge
21/03/2022Imperial, London17065Emmanuel, Cambridge
04/04/2022Imperial, London125115Reading

Congratulations to Imperial College, London, who join Magdalen College, Oxford and Manchester as having won the trophy a record four times. Remarkably, none of those twelve victories were during the Bamber Gascoigne era. The Imperial team are Max Zeng (Biochemistry), Fatima Sheriff (Science Communication), Michael Mays (Computational Fluid Dynamics), and Gilbert Jackson (Chemistry) and were presented with their trophy by physicist Andre Geim.

As ever, winners are in bold, highest-scoring losers in italics. Italicised scores indicate the result was decided by a tie-break.