University Challenge results, 1997

These are the results of the series which ran from 12 November 1996 to the final on 4 June 1997. The show began on Tuesdays at 20:00, moving to Monday 20:30 at the start of January 1997, before moving again to Wednesday at 20:00 from 26 February. The winners of each of the twelve first-round shows progressed to the second round, as did the four highest-scoring losing teams.

First round
12/11/1996Imperial, London200210St Catharine's, Cambridge
19/11/1996Queen's, Belfast165135Cardiff
26/11/1996King's Coll Med&Dent, London155135Keble, Oxford
03/12/1996Manchester36040Birkbeck, London
10/12/1996Newnham, Cambridge200155LSE
17/12/1996Glamorgan220175Charing Cross Hospital
06/01/1997St Andrews215170Girton, Cambridge
20/01/1997Corpus Christi, Cambridge240205Exeter, Oxford
03/02/1997Harris Manchester, Oxford200165Glasgow
10/02/1997Portsmouth150280Magdalen, Oxford
Second round
26/02/1997Magdalen, Oxford195175UWE
05/03/1997Queen's, Belfast250130Girton, Cambridge
12/03/1997Manchester200165Imperial, London
19/03/1997Glamorgan155150St Andrews
26/03/1997Newnham, Cambridge125165Harris Manchester, Oxford
02/04/1997Charing Cross Hospital22595King's Coll Med&Dent, London
09/04/1997St Catharine's, Cambridge215255Exeter, Oxford
16/04/1997Corpus Christi, Cambridge185215Open
23/04/1997Magdalen, Oxford335110Queen's, Belfast
07/05/1997Harris Manchester, Oxford135210Charing Cross Hospital
14/05/1997Exeter, Oxford170180Open
21/05/1997Magdalen, Oxford240225Manchester
28/05/1997Open41565Charing Cross Hospital
04/06/1997Magdalen, Oxford250195Open
96 champions vs College Bowl champions
01/01/1997Imperial, London125265Michigan

So congrats to Magdalen College, Oxford, whose team consisted of Colin Andress, Gwilym Thear, Jim Adams, and Alison Reeves, studying Classics, English, Maths and Philosophy, and History respectively. The series winners' trophy was presented to them by Germaine Greer.

The College Bowl challenge trophy was presented to Michigan by the American Ambassador to the United Kingdom, William J. Crowe, Jr.

Winners are given in bold, and the four highest scoring first round losers in italics. An italicised score indicates that the result was decided by a tie-break.